You can search books and e-books on SearchLib using a keyword or the information you have (title, author).
Use filters (e.g. Availability, Resource type, Date, Subject...) to refine your search: you can select "Books" as Resource Type and choose "Available in the Library" or "Available online" in Availability for books or e-books only.
Here are some sections where you can find relevant material in our reading rooms:
BP.70 - Particular labor market
BT.20 – Social structure
BW.60 - State and organized groups
Learn more about borrowing books.
A History of Feminist and Gender Economics by
This book offers a historical exploration of the genesis of feminist economics and gender economics, as well as their theoretical and methodological differences. Its narrative also serves to embed both within a broader cultural context. Although both feminist economics and gender neoclassical economics belong to the cultural process related to the central role of the political economy in promoting women's emancipation and empowerment, they differ in many aspects. Feminist economics, mainly influenced by women's studies and feminism, rejected neoclassical economics, while gender neoclassical economics, mainly influenced by home economics and the new home economics, adopted the neoclassical economics' approach to gender issues. The book includes diverse case studies, which also highlight the continuity between the story of women's emancipation and the more recent developments of feminist and gender studies. This volume will be of great interest to researchers and academia in the fields of feminist economics, gender studies, and the history of economic thought.
Measuring women's political empowerment across the globe : strategies, challenges and future research by 
The Oxford Handbook of Gender in Organizations by
The issue of gender in organizations has attracted much attention and debate over a number of years. The focus of examination is inequality of opportunity between the genders and the impact this has on organizations, individual men and women, and society as a whole. It is undoubtedly the case that progress has been made with women participating in organizational life in greater numbers and at more senior levels than has been historically the case, challenging notions that senior and/or influential organizational and political roles remain a masculine domain. The Oxford Handbook of Gender in Organizations is a comprehensive analysis of thinking and research on gender in organizations with original contributions from key international scholars in the field. The Handbook comprises four sections. The first looks at the theoretical roots and potential for theoretical development in respect of the topic of gender in organizations. The second section focuses on leadership and management and the gender issues arising in this field; contributors review the extensive literature and reflect on progress made as well as commenting on hurdles yet to be overcome. The third section considers the gendered nature of careers. Here the focus is on querying traditional approaches to career, surfacing embedded assumptions within traditional approaches, and assessing potential for alternative patterns to evolve, taking into account the nature of women's lives and the changing nature of organizations. In its final section the Handbook examines masculinity in organizations to assess the diversity of masculinities evident within organizations and the challenges posed to those outside the norm. In bringing together a broad range of research and thinking on gender in organizations across a number of disciplines, sub-disciplines, and conceptual perspectives, the Handbook provides a comprehensive view of both contemporary thinking and future research directions.
Pursuing Women's Economic Empowerment by
The economic and social imperative for women's economic empowerment is clear. Greater gender equality boosts economic growth and leads to better development outcomes. It contributes to reducing income inequality and boosting economic diversification and, in turn, supports economic resilience. Gender equality is one of the 17 global UN Sustainable Development Goals, which provide a roadmap for ending poverty, protecting the planet, and ensuring that all people enjoy peace and prosperity. The G7 has emphasized the need for closing the gender gap. The Taormina Leaders' Summit in 2017 renewed the emphasis on promoting women's empowerment, which the leaders see as a crucial contribution to promoting sustainable development. In this regard, leaders committed to mainstreaming gender equality into all their policies. This is carried forward by Canada's G7 Presidency. With growing recognition that gender equality promotes economic stability and growth, the IMF has scaled up its work in this area and is committed to continue these efforts. Work by the IMF will focus on (i) deepening its understanding of the economic benefits of women's empowerment, both in the labor market and through more equal opportunities for boys and girls, also against the background of persistent megatrends, including in an environment of rapid technological change; (ii) integrating the analysis into Fund policy dialogue with member countries; (iii) providing customized assistance, workshops, and peer-learning courses in areas such as gender budgeting; and (iv) expanding collaboration with other international institutions on the subject to benefit from complementary areas of expertise.
The Routledge Handbook of the History of Women's Economic Thought by
The marginalization of women in economics has a history as long as the discipline itself. Throughout the history of economics, women contributed substantial novel ideas, methods of inquiry, and analytical insights, with much of this discounted, ignored, or shifted into alternative disciplines and writing outlets. This handbook presents new and much-needed analytical research of women's contributions in the history of economic thought, focusing primarily on the period from the 1770s into the beginning of the 21st century. Chapters address the institutional, sociological and historical factors that have influenced women economists' thinking, and explore women's contributions to economic analysis, method, policies and debates. Coverage is international, moving beyond Europe and the US into the Arab world, China, India, Japan, Latin America, Russia and the Soviet Union, and sub-Saharan Africa. This new global perspective adds depth as well as scope to our understanding of women's contribution to the history of economic thought. The book offers crucial new insights into previously underexplored work by women in the history of economic thought, and will prove to be a seminal volume with relevance beyond that field, into women's studies, sociology, and history.
Economic Woman in the Age of Capital by
The author introduces the concept of economic woman and makes her visible in duality with and opposition to the exclusive model of economic man. Economic man has epitomized neo-liberal capitalism, which embraces competition and maximization of profit, resulting in a steep increase in economic inequality. The book demonstrates that women's inequality is a crucial factor in economic inequality, which cannot be fully understood without relating to women's situation, and that economic woman cannot thrive in the conditions of economic inequality created under global neo-liberalism. Emphasising the international human rights guarantees of women's right to equality in all fields of life, the author documents woman's increased participation in political, public, financial and corporate institutions, employment and entrepreneurship, with some women reaching high profile positions. Nevertheless, using global data, she reveals that economic woman lags behind, with a severe economic power deficit, an unfulfilled promise of equal employment opportunity, a gendered impact of poverty and barriers to gender equality in the family. The book analyses the trap of women's increased burden of breadwinning in the context of discriminatory laws and practices, infrastructural failures and policy gaps, which preempt achievement of gender equality in economic life. The book is intended for the general reader, academics, students, policy makers and NGOs. It shows economic woman at a global crossroads between a universal paradigm of gender equality and pervasive barriers to equal economic opportunity. The author demonstrates that tackling gender inequality, restoring welfare priorities and reducing economic inequality are inextricably linked. Human rights and governments have a vital role to play in addressing them all, to create a sustainable economic infrastructure for the lives of women and men. ficit, an unfulfilled promise of equal employment opportunity, a gendered impact of poverty and barriers to gender equality in the family. The book analyses the trap of women's increased burden of breadwinning in the context of discriminatory laws and practices, infrastructural failures and policy gaps, which preempt achievement of gender equality in economic life. The book is intended for the general reader, academics, students, policy makers and NGOs. It shows economic woman at a global crossroads between a universal paradigm of gender equality and pervasive barriers to equal economic opportunity. The author demonstrates that tackling gender inequality, restoring welfare priorities and reducing economic inequality are inextricably linked. Human rights and governments have a vital role to play in addressing them all, to create a sustainable economic infrastructure for the lives of women and men.
Gender Equality and Public Policy by
Despite formal UN and European Commission commitments to improve gender imbalances, progress towards gender equality in wealth and pay has progressed at a discouragingly slow pace in recent decades. European countries have been more proactive in their support for corrective policies, such as family leave and gender quotas for corporate boards, yet measuring the effectiveness of these policies has proven difficult. This book offers a close comparative analysis of gender-targeted policies in Europe, providing an in-depth overview of how public policy is shaping gender equality, and how the presence of women in the economy and decision-making positions is itself shaping public policy. Paola Profeta bases her analysis on new data and an innovative interdisciplinary perspective for understanding the relationship between gender, equality and public policy, and their final impact on the European economy and society, with lessons that resonate beyond Europe.
Gender Inequality and Welfare States in Europe by
Gender equality has been one of the defining projects of European welfare states. It has proven an elusive goal, not just because of political opposition but also due to a lack of clarity in how to best frame equality and take account of family-related considerations. This wide-ranging book assembles the most pertinent literature and evidence to provide a critical understanding of how contemporary state policies engage with gender inequalities. Examining progress in gender equality in EU member states, this thought-provoking book traces developments from the last decade and earlier regarding women's and men's relative positioning in respect of income, employment and time. Located in a critical feminist perspective, the result is a compelling overview of the gender-related achievements in the EU and continuing gaps and inequalities. As well as taking stock of where we are now, the book identifies a research agenda going forward. This seeks to revitalise the feminist social policy project, in light of key welfare state developments and intersectional inequalities in Europe and beyond. This innovative and detailed book constitutes an important contribution to debates about gender equality and policies in Europe and provides a timely reminder of the content of the gender critique of welfare states and why it is still salient.
High-Growth Women's Entrepreneurship by
Women's entrepreneurship is vital for economic and social development, yet female entrepreneurs worldwide are consistently found to have weaker sales and employment growth, fewer jobs, and lower profitability. This book was written to address this reality and focuses on the high-growth potential of women entrepreneurs. The scholars in this book conducted qualitative as well as quantitative research in contexts around the world, including Eswatini (Swaziland), Australia, China, Slovenia, Peru, and one global study of 43 countries. Chapters are organized according to three key themes: the practice of building networks, programs and the support environment, and policies and regulations. Topics addressed within these themes include the interconnected and mutually reinforcing features of a fruitful entrepreneurial culture, including financial and human capital advancement and readiness, new opportunities for expansion and an assortment of institutional and infrastructural provisions for innovation and business growth. High-growth Women's Entrepreneurshipwill appeal to public and private sector managers, policy makers and politicians who want to promote a culture and ecosystem that supports women's growth-oriented business potential. Educators and program designers who want to help women grow their businesses, and scholars who want to explore further research will find the information invaluable. Contributors include:N. Birdthistle, C.J. Boudreaux, Z. Brixiová, C.G. Brush, A. Bullough, D. Cetindamar, M. Córdova, L.F. Edelman, R. Eversole, B. Freser, V. Godinho, D. Hechavarría, F. Huamán, E. James, T. Kangoye, T. Lammers, Y. Li, S. Muhammad, B. Nikolaev, A. Pearce, K. Sirec, E. Sullivan, P. Tominc, M. Walo, J. Wu
Invisibili : come il nostro mondo ignora le donne in ogni campo : dati alla mano by 
L'Italia delle donne : settant'anni di lotte e di conquiste by 
Parità di genere e politiche pubbliche : misurare il progresso in Europa by 
Quale "genere" di sviluppo? : le disuguaglianze di genere nella popolazione mondiale by 
Through the Labyrinth by
Despite real progress, women remain rare enough in elite positions of power that their presence still evokes a sense of wonder. In Through the Labyrinth, Alice Eagly and Linda Carli examine why women's paths to power remain difficult to traverse. First, Eagly and Carli prove that the glass ceiling is no longer a useful metaphor and offer seven reasons why. They propose the labyrinth as a better image and explain how to navigate through it. This important and practical book addresses such critical questions as: How far have women actually come as leaders? Do stereotypes and prejudices still limit women's opportunities? Do people resist women's leadership more than men's? And, do organisations create obstacles to women who would be leaders?This book's rich analysis is founded on scientific research from psychology, economics, sociology, political science, and management. The authors ground their conclusions in that research and invoke a wealth of engaging anecdotes and personal accounts to illustrate the practical principles that emerge. With excellent leadership in short supply, no group, organisation, or nation can afford to restrict women's access to leadership roles. This book evaluates whether such restrictions are present and, when they are, what we can do to eliminate them.
Una democrazia dimezzata : autoselezione, selezione ed elezione delle donne in Italia by 
What Works by
"Compelling, lucid, and filled with actionable insights, What Works draws from a deep well of research to explain how we can end gender inequality."-Adam Grant, author of Give and Take and Originals "A pathbreaking work, packed with insights on every page The best book ever written on behavioral science and discrimination."-Cass Sunstein, coauthor of Nudge A Financial Times/McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award Finalist Gender equality is a moral and a business imperative. But unconscious bias holds us back, and de-biasing people's minds has proven to be difficult and expensive. Diversity training programs have had limited success, and individual effort alone often invites backlash. Behavioral design offers a new solution. By de-biasing organizations instead of individuals, we can make smart changes that have big impacts. Presenting research-based solutions, Iris Bohnet hands us the tools we need to move the needle in classrooms and boardrooms, in hiring and promotion, benefiting businesses, governments, and the lives of millions. What Works is built on new insights into the human mind. It draws on data collected by companies, universities, and governments in Australia, India, Norway, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia, and other countries, often in randomized controlled trials. It points out dozens of evidence-based interventions that could be adopted right now and demonstrates how research is addressing gender bias, improving lives and performance. What Works shows what more can be done-often at shockingly low cost and surprisingly high speed.
Why Gender Matters in Economics by
An economic way of thinking about the gender issues confronting women around the world Gender matters in economics--for even with today's technology, fertility choices, market opportunities, and improved social norms, economic outcomes for women remain markedly worse than for men. Drawing on insights from feminism, postmodernism, psychology, evolutionary biology, Marxism, and politics, this textbook provides a rigorous economic look at issues confronting women throughout the world--including nonmarket scenarios, such as marriage, family, fertility choice, and bargaining within households, as well as market areas, like those pertaining to labor and credit markets and globalization. Mukesh Eswaran examines how women's behavioral responses in economic situations and their bargaining power within the household differ from those of men. Eswaran then delves into the far-reaching consequences of these differences in both market and nonmarket domains. The author considers how women may be discriminated against in labor and credit markets, how their family and market circumstances interact, and how globalization has influenced their lives. Eswaran also investigates how women have been empowered through access to education, credit, healthcare, and birth control; changes in ownership laws; the acquisition of suffrage; and political representation. Throughout, Eswaran applies sound economic analysis and new modeling approaches, and each chapter concludes with exercises and discussion questions. This textbook gives readers the necessary tools for thinking about gender from an economic perspective. Addresses economic issues for women throughout the world, in both developed and developing countries Looks at both market and nonmarket domains Requires only a background in basic economic principles Includes the most recent research on the economics of gender in a range of areas Concludes each chapter with exercises and discussion questions
Women, Politics, and Power by
Women, Politics, and Power provides a clear and detailed introduction to women's political participation and representation across all branches of government and a wide range of countries and regions. Using broad statistical overviews and detailed case-study accounts, authors Pamela Paxton, Melanie M. Hughes, and Tiffany Barnes document both historical trends and the contemporary state of women's political strength across diverse countries. The text considers experiences of women from a range of marginalized groups, including racial, ethnic, and religious minorities; indigenous peoples; and those that face discrimination based on their sexual orientation and gender identity. Readers will learn about cultural, structural, political, and international influences on women's access to political power, about the old and new barriers women continue to face like violence, and about the difference women make once in political office. Dedicated chapters on six geographic regions highlight distinct influences and patterns in different parts of the world. There is simply no other book that offers such a thorough and multidisciplinary synthesis of research on women's political power around the world.
Women in Leadership by
Women leaders in many parts of the world have leadership opportunities that never existed before as a result of technology, globalization, and demographic shifts that have produced more female graduates than in the past and created a workforce which consists almost 50% of women. Ever more so, in today's rapidly changing environment, the contexts in which women exercise leadership is critically important in shaping their leadership style. At the same time, objectifying women in contexts such as sports and the media or the patriarchal ideology that permeates contexts such as the military and the church have changed very little. This book, updated and expanded from the 2011 first edition, acknowledges and discusses the belief that the context in which women exercise leadership is critically important in shaping their leadership style. Each chapter opens with a vignette of an extraordinary leader in the respective context, presents a contextual analysis, and discusses issues, controversies and paradoxes germane to the context of interest. What is the future of women's leadership in a global environment characterized by ambiguity, uncertainty, increasing interdependence and interconnectivity? Award-winning author Karin Klenke shows us in this revised edition of Women in Leadership.
Women in Top Management by
Ask 110 top female executives from five nations to reflect on their careers and leadership as part of an international scientific study and you will uncover a set of recommendations for women who want to become and remain international business leaders. There is also invaluable advice for corporate managers wanting to recruit skilled women into executive positions. This book is based on the authentic experiences and original words of the interviewees - all of whom are senior female executives - and on the author''s analytical insights, all set within a qualitative, scientific framework. In this international research project, the Global Women Career Lab, the author analyzes what motivates these fascinating role models, how they plan their career trajectories, what mechanisms they use to overcome obstacles and what leadership strategies have enabled these women to reach senior management positions. The book offers the reader a remarkable insight into the experiences of women in top business positions in Russia, China, Japan, France and Germany. About the author: Dr. Bettina-Al-Sadik-Lowinski is a researcher, author and certified international mentor-coach (MCC). Following a long management career in multinational companies, she has worked as an international executive coach and expert on diversity in Germany, France, Japan and China. Reviews: "A wealth of testimonials from female role models from all over the world, with valuable advices for women pursuing professional development as well as for companies leveraging diversity for competitive advantage." Hong Chow, China CEO Roche Pharma, Member of Supervisory Board Beiersdorf "Women need other women as role models in management in order to plan their careers more strategically and understand that the sky is unlimited for them. In this book, 110 role models from various countries share their experiences and I was especially impressed by the examples from Asian female leaders." Mari Nogami, President Takeda Consumer Healthcare Japan, Ex (the first) Chair of Women in Business AmCham Japan "As a big advocator for global diversity I recommend this book to all women who want to rise up their careers　globally and to corporate leaders who support diversity in their companies worldwide!" Rosa Lee, Executive Vice President of Bosch China, Member of the Board and Corporate HR Head APAC ,,It''s not right to think that business is a man´s world. Women are more sensitive and calmer - this makes us different, helps us to balance and makes ladies the best partners for men." Natalia Ryzhkova, CEO Gulliver&Co Int., Russia " International, authentic reports from female top managers from different countries combined with a sound scientific analysis of the growth factors for women in management. Insights across countries. Highly recommended!" Professor Dr. Jutta Rump, Managing Director, Institut of Employability (IBE), University of the Economy and Society Ludwigshafen, Germany ,,Women need to understand the country specific codes and create their best image as topmanager- using language, their look and body postures. This books shows us the similarities and the differences of female images in top positions in the five nations. Great findings!" Muriel de Saint Sauveur, President Women Masterclass France, former International Marketing, Communications and Diversity Director, Mazars Group, France ,,Les femmes doivent oser prendre leur juste place dans l''economie, que ce soit en tant qu''entrepreneure ou en tant que cadre dirigeante. C''est une question d''equilibre social mais plus encore de potentiel de performance. Plus de femmes signifie plus de croissance et plus de diversité dans les choix stratégiques. Osez, osez, c''est le maitre-mot à mettre en pratique!" Marie-Claire Capobianco, Ex membre du Comité exécutif du groupe BNPParibas, Membre du Haut Comité de Gouvernement d''Entreprise, France ,,Chinese female executives have many strengths. Great learnings also from women around the world. A treasure book!" Shelley Chen, Senior Director Human Resources, Communications and Public Relations, Saint-Gobain Pipe, APAC, Head of PAM-LAN- Diversity Institute, China " Top managers from five nations provide insights into how they strategically plan their careers, and break down barriers. The author Dr. Bettina AL-Sadik-Lowinski has managed to work out the cultural differences and similarities between these women. Very educational, worth reading and scientifically sound." Prof. Manuela Rousseau, Deputy chairwoman of the supervisory board and Author, Germany " Finally. International role models report what women need to advance further. The quotes contain a global fund that helps women successfully overcome barriers." Christine Rittner, former Global CHRO, Executive board member, Lidl, Germany　 " A journey through the career worlds of women of different cultures. Solidarity from women for women. Highly recommended."　 Dr. Marion Welp, Attorney at Law, Chief Human Resources & Legal Affairs Officer, Member Executive Management Team, Board member, Esprit, Germany "Women in top management positions speak plain language. A great initiative. " Sonja Mechling, Head of Global Marketing, UX & Digital Innovation, Schindler Group, Germany ,,This world deserves more ladies in the leadership positions as a driver of positive changes. Dr. Bettina and her ladies had found their way to the Top and generously shares it in the book." Evgeny Bazhov, Chief Representative, Russia, Financial Association of EuroAsian Cooperation ,,Full of valuable insights. A must read to understand how women career paths work. Read it. Implement it." Christine Hesse, CEO Hesse Design, Germany Check out our two webinars on this book! In this panel discussion with female senior executives from different nations USA, China, Japan, Russia and Germany, the subject is what women in top leadership positions in different countries have in common and what makes them different: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D-HN5VT64Aw In this video, Dr. Bettina Al-Sadik-Lowinski and her guests, all in high leadership positions themselves, read the authentic quotes from the book: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcbSiQ7pK9Y&t=1265s
Studi femministi dei media : il campo e le pratiche by 
Championing Women Leaders by
Championship is the key differentiator between women who achieve leadership roles and those who don't. This book examines the reasons why championing works and why it is so important for female executive development in particular, and provides a user-friendly guide to develop workplace champions for female leaders in any organization
Gender Equality and Policy Implementation in the Corporate World by
Gender Equality and Policy Implementation in the Corporate World takes a unique approach to the issue of gender equality in corporations in the 21st century. It examines the implementation of specific policies that seek to promote women's presence on corporate boards in 15 democracies inWestern and Central Eastern Europe, North America, and Australasia through the lens of the Gender Equality Policy in Practice Approach. The thirteen empirically rich country chapters by leading country experts and two separate comparative chapter answer core questions. How were policies adopted andimplemented? Did they achieve any degree of success that would allow for real and lasting equality? What were the politics of the pursuit of corporate gender equality across the 15 countries? What worked and did not work and why? What are the lessons to be drawn from these experiences?The findings of the book show that policy implementation does matter, but that in this last bastion of male domination, policies have had more success in increasing women's numbers over challenging gender-biased norms that block women of all cultural and socio-economic backgrounds from gaining realpower on boards. The path-breaking study shows that the reasons for this slow change are highly complex and case specific, in the details of each policy mix. While progress has been slow in coming, it has still been made even in these challenging times. Future policy success, the book concludes, isin the hands of men and women willing to come forward to overcome these well entrenched obstacles.
Global perspectives on women’s leadership and gender (in)equality by 
Imagining Women's Careers by
It is over twenty years since scholars began to question the adequacy of the extant career theory for illuminating women's lives. Since then the literature has developed apace. This book contributes to these on-going debates.This book is about women's careers, how they think about and enact their working lives, and how these patterns change, or stay the same, over time. It focuses on seventeen women, based in the same northern English city, working in a variety of occupations, who left their organizational positions toset up their own businesses. In the early 90s they participated in a research study of this career transition, and a decade and a half later were interviewed for a second time. Imagining Women's Careers is based on these accounts. It investigates the women's transition to self-employment andon-going career development; contextual change between the two periods and why, in career terms, this mattered; their experiences of late career and retirement; and the role of others in their career-making. The concept of the career imagination is introduced, defining and delimiting what ispossible, legitimate and appropriate in career terms, and prescribing its own criteria for success.In part, the book is about change: women moving from young to middle, or middle to old age; society moving out of and back into recession; an academic literature which has deconstructed and redefined the concept of career itself. However it is also about continuity: enduring relationships,commitments to people and places, deeply held values and identities.
The Qualifications Gap by
What does it take for women to win political office? This book uncovers a gendered qualifications gap, showing that women need to be significantly more qualified than men to win elections. Applying insights from psychology and political science and drawing on experiments, public opinion data, and content analysis, Nichole M. Bauer presents new evidence of how voter biases and informational asymmetries combine to disadvantage female candidates. The book shows that voters conflate masculinity and political leadership, receive less information about the political experiences of female candidates, and hold female candidates to a higher qualifications standard. This higher standard is especially problematic for Republican female candidates. The demand for masculinity in political leaders means these women must "look like men" but also be better than men to win elections.
The social life of a herstory textbook : bridging institutionalism and actor-network theory by 
Women and Leadership in the European Union by
This volume is the first comprehensive analysis of women's ascendance to leadership positions in the European Union as well as their performance in such positions. It provides a new theoretical and analytical framework capturing both positional and behavioural leadership and the specifichurdles that women encounter on their path to and when exercising leadership. The volume encompasses a detailed set of single and comparative case studies, analyzing women's representation and performance in the core EU institutions and their individual pathways to and exercise of power in top-levelfunctions, as well as comparative analyses regarding the position and behaviour of women in relation to men. Based on these individual studies, the volume draws overarching conclusions about women's leadership in the EU. Regarding positional leadership, women continue to be underrepresented inleadership positions, they more often hold less prestigious portfolios in such positions, and manifold structural hurdles hamper their access to power. Furthermore, huge variations exist across EU institutions, with the intergovernmental bodies being the hardest to access. Regarding behaviouralleadership, women acting in powerful EU positions generally perform excellently. They successfully exercise a combined leadership style that integrates attributes of leadership considered to be 'masculine' and 'feminine'. This is not to argue that women per se are the better leaders. Yet more oftenthan men they are exposed to stronger selection processes and their prevalent practice of a combined leadership style tends to best meet the requirements of modern democratic systems and particularly those of the highly fragmented EU.
Women and Sustainable Human Development by
This book adds significantly to the discourse surrounding the progress made in empowering women in Africa over the last decade, providing strong research evidence on diverse and timely gender issues in varied African countries. Topics covered include climate change and environmental degradation, agriculture and land rights, access to - and quality of - education, maternal and reproductive health, unpaid care and women's labor market participation, financial inclusion and women's political participation. Cross cutting issues such as migration, masculinities and social norms are also addressed in this volume, which is aimed at policy makers, academics, and indeed anyone else interested in the UN Sustainable Development Goal of the empowerment of women and girls.
