The search and collection of information from published sources (books, journals, newspapers, etc.) nowadays may include other types of documents, such as websites, reports from bibliographic databases, etc.
Searching for bibliographic sources relevant to your project is an integral and unavoidable part of the thesis work.
To find out how to conduct your bibliographic research, we suggest you consult the Bibliographic Research Guide.
For a start, you can consult the Library books on academic writing (how to write assignments, presentations, theses ...):
Student Research and Report Writing by
This is an invaluable, concise, all-in-one guide for carrying out student research and writing a paper, adaptable to course use and suitable for use by students independently, it successfully guides students along every step of the way. Allows students to better manage their research projects Exercises and worksheets break down the research process into small steps and walk students through each stage of the research project Offers real-world and lively examples that are attractive and relevant to students Based on twenty years of experience in teaching research techniques to students in a way that avoids the methodology "overkill" from encyclopaedic and intimidating textbooks Accompanying website includes powerpoint lecture slides for instructors and helpful links to video resources for student. Visit www.wiley.com\go\wang\researchreportwriting
Writing for Academic Success by
Writing for Academic Success is a vital practical guide for any ambitious student. If you seek to manage your writing effectively, reduce stress, and improve your confidence and efficiency, this book is for you. The authors show you how to acquire communicative rigor in research essays, reports, book and article reviews, exam papers, research proposals, and literature reviews, through to thesis writing, posters and papers for presentation and publication. This second edition has been fully revised to reflect the online learning explosion. The authors provide insightful new material about how to work productively in different online contexts such as with blogs and wikis, setting up an e-portfolio, and raising an online profile. They also set out a focused guide to issues unique to digital communication, and working with and across different media and technologies. The book includes advice on common writing concerns, cross-cultural and inter-disciplinary practices, a list of helpful words and phrases, and subject-specific examples of writing ranging from economics to philosophy to medicine. Writing for Academic Success is essential for undergraduate and postgraduate students both in taught courses and conducting research. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university.
Writing up Your University Assignments and Research Projects by
What is good academic writing? How should I present my written work? How can I improve my written work? Academic writing can be a daunting prospect for new undergraduates and postgraduates alike, regardless of whether they are home or overseas students. This accessible book provides them/students with all they need to know to produce excellent written work. Based on their many years of experience, the authors have structured the book so as to build students' confidence in their own writing ability whilst at the same time respecting conventional ideas of what is, and what is not, acceptable in the academic domain. To reinforce student learning, the material is presented using a wealth of clear examples, hands-on tasks with answers, and logical sequences that build on earlier chapters. The first two sections of the book address the preparation and writing of assignments and research projects, while the third provides a useful toolkit containing reference materials on areas including punctuation, grammar and academic terminology. The book includes numerous tips and insights and comprehensively covers issues such as: Reading around a new topic The need for coherence and how to achieve it Structure and organisation Plagiarism, quoting and citing sources The main sections of a typical research project Writing style Finding your own voice Examiner expectations
Literature review is the analysis of the academic literature (articles, books, dissertations, theses, etc.) that you have identified when performing your search on the topic.
A review of the relevant literature for the topic selected is a key element of any academic project (dissertation or PhD thesis, writing an article for an academic journal…) for several reasons:
• it provides you with the conceptual context for your research
• it allows you to acquire, deepen and organize knowledge in the chosen research area
• helps you define or better focus your research objectives
Furthermore, its objectives are:
Want to learn more about the literature review? Explore the Project Planner on SAGE Research Methods.
If you notice that a significant book or resource is not included in the Library collections, please let us know: the Library will consider acquiring it!