A citation style provides a standardized system to format bibliographic references within the text and in the bibliography at the end of the essay. In particular, the style defines which elements to cite, in what order to cite them and with what punctuation.
There isn’t an official citation style used in Bocconi University. Since there are different citation styles, you will need to choose which one is right for you, taking into account the subject area and what you supervisor might suggest.
Some styles commonly used internationally are:
The APA style is an “author-date” citation system, with the author and date of the cited source appearing in the body of the text. You will need to add a bibliography at the end of the essay, with the full references alphabetically ordered by author’s name. It is mainly used in the social sciences.
The Chicago style uses two systems: "author-date" in the body of the text and bibliography at the end of the paper, or footnotes with bibliography.
To learn more about this style you can visit the official website with tutorials, webinars, examples and exercises accessible for free.
The Harvard style is an “author-date” citation, with the author and date of the cited source appearing in the body of the text. You must include a bibliography at the end of the text, with the full references alphabetically ordered by author’s name. It is used in the social sciences.
To learn more about this style you can visit the dedicated section of the Guides on citation styles prepared by Harvard Library staff.
The MLA style, developed by the Modern language Association, is an “author-page number” citation system appearing in the body of the text. You must include a bibliography at the end of the text, with the full references alphabetically ordered by author’s name. It is used in the social sciences and humanities.
The Oscola style, acronym for Oxford University Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities, is a citation system using footnotes and bibliography. It is used in law studies.
To learn more about this style you can read:
Faculty of Law, University of Oxford (2012) (ed.). OSCOLA. Oxford University Standard for the Citation of Legal Authorities (4. ed.)
The Bluebook style is a citation system used in the United States in a professional setting to cite legal sources.
To learn more about this style, we suggest you read the manual, in particular the Whitepages section, dedicated to academic citations and the Quick Style Guide where you will find examples of citations from non-US legal sources.
Here are some print books that you can find in the Library:
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, the official guide to MLA format. Works are published today in a dizzying variety of ways: a novel, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to as an audiobook. Writers of research papers routinely need to know how to cite works on Web sites, videos on platforms like YouTube, interviews and other works created by multiple authors, journal articles contained in databases, online images, posts on social media sites, song lyrics, and more. Instead of providing separate instructions for each format, the MLA's unique, innovative approach recommends one set of guidelines that writers can apply to any type of source. This groundbreaking edition of the MLA's best-selling handbook is short and designed for easy use. It guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research and thus focuses on the key skills of information and digital literacy. It then shows writers how to cite sources in their writing, offering detailed guidance on in-text citations, quoting and paraphrasing, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Intended for students, teachers, librarians, and advanced scholars, the handbook is an indispensable resource in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields.
RefWorks is the bibliographic management tool (citation manager) supported by the Library. It helps you with keeping track of your sources as you search, with citing them correctly and creating a bibliography.
Further information on RefWorks.
Would you like to know more? The Library regularly organizes RefWorks workshops for students. Check the calendar on the yoU@B Student Diary (Library section) and sign up!