On this page you can find a list of recommended books and e-books available in our collections.
SearchLib is the best place to start as it allows you to search simultaneously across a wide range of library resources (and beyond), including databases, e-journals, e-books, theses, dissertations, and many open access collections.
Here are some sections where you can find relevant material in our reading rooms:
BO.30 - Environmental protection
BM.23 - Social responsibility of business
The circular economy handbook : realizing the circular advantage by 
Codice dell'ambiente : aggiornato con: Il pacchetto "Circular economy" (D.L.vi n. 116, 118, 119, 121/2020) - La riforma della VIA (L. n. 120/2020) - La riforma emissioni (D.L.vo n. 102/2020) by 
Handbook of Green Economics by
Handbook of Green Economics reveals the breadth and depth of advanced research on sustainability and growth, also identifying opportunities for future developments. Through its multidimensional examination, it demonstrates how overarching concepts, such as green growth, low carbon economy, circular economy and others work together. Some chapters reflect on different discourses on the green economy, including pro-growth perspectives and transformative approaches that entail de-growth. Others argue that green policies can spark economic innovation, particularly in developing and emerging market economies. Part literature summary, part analysis and part argument, this book shows how the right conditions can stimulate economic growth while achieving environmental sustainability. This book will be a valuable resource for graduate students and academic researchers whose focus is on the green economy. With an increasing interest in the topic among researchers and policymakers, users will find different theoretical perspectives and explore policy implications in this growing subject area.
Il manuale della circular economy : realizzare il vantaggio circolare by 
Circular Economy by
How can we design circular business models? How can we organize the transition from a linear to a circular economy? And how can we imagine circular futures that help us transform current realities? This book aims to provide answers to these questions while addressing the challenges and opportunities of the circular economy. The authors reflect on why conventional sustainability models - such as the 'triple P' (People, Profit and Planet) or eco-efficiency - have failed in addressing environmental challenges, including climate change, biodiversity loss and pollution. They then move on to explore innovative circular business models, which propose to eliminate environmental damage by radically reforming the system of industrial production. Organizing the transition is a collaborative effort: entrepreneurs, consumers, policymakers, multinationals and intermediaries need to work together to foster the emergence of the circular economy as an institutional field. Together with younger generations of learners and equipped with beyond-human-centred values towards awareness of the material and natural world, novel circular futures can be imagined. Offering points of reference for continued critical discourse and examples of practically applicable sustainability solutions, this book will be of great interest to students, teachers, practitioners and scholars of circular economy.
Circular Economy by
This book is aimed at companies, researchers, consultants, consumers, students and any interested public interested in the subject, the reflections and practices of the circular economy. As part of the draft law on the circular economy in France, the authors (researchers and experts) analyze the data and the reflections and base their arguments on real examples in order to propose solutions and recommendations for a green economy. It gives an updated overview of the reflections and practices around the circular economy. The book is divided into three parts: - The company and its functions, innovative business models - The institutional, legislative and normative framework - Some sectors of activity with the prism of the circular economy
Circular economy : dallo spreco al valore by 
L'impresa circolare : modelli di business, sistemi di misura, leve manageriali by 
L'impresa moda responsabile : nuove strategie per le catene del valore sostenibili e circolari by 
Le politiche di programmazione per la resilienza dei sistemi infrastrutturali : economia circolare, governo del territorio e sostenibilità energetica by 
Sraffa and Leontief Revisited by
This work is dedicated to Wassiliy Leontief's concepts of Input-Output Analysis and to the algebraic properties of Piero Sraffa's seminal models described consequently by matrix algebra and the Perron-Frobenius Theorem. Detailed examples and visualizing graphs are presented for applications of various mathematical methods.
Strategic management and the circular economy by 
Advancing the Circular Economy by
This book explores an escalating modern-day crisis; managing waste in a sustainable way. The central question posed is whether advancing a circular economy provides a way to shift waste management practices towards more sustainable approaches. It begins with an in-depth analysis of the nature of waste management and the prevailing crisis, followed by a discussion about the circular economy in terms of its requirements and the challenges of implementation. The book then moves on to propose a framework that sets out how to establish the policy changes needed to advance a circular approach to waste management. Next, the book outlines complex issues in multilevel systems for advancing a circular economy through examining the contemporary situation in Belgium and Norway. It ends by bringing together the issues revealed in these case studies and draws insights for governments advocating circular approaches. The book will be a valuable resource to scholars, students, practitioners and policy makers interested in developing more sustainable methods of waste management.
Automotive Recycling, Plastics and Sustainability by
This book provides transdisciplinary analyses of the automotive plastics production and recycling system, including prognoses, scenarios and solutions for corporate sustainability management. A book on plastics, not written by a plastics guy. But a sustainability guy. Plastics schizophrenia and the automotive abyss: The industry is facing a severe challenge. It is the inevitable and promising change towards a sustainable economy. However, the automotive industry is primarily concerned with the CO2 emissions from cars when driving, while the rise of lightweight plastics, electric drive and heavy batteries make the production and end-of-life phase ever more important. Therefore, the currently increasing use of non-sustainable virgin plastics in cars has to be tackled. The plastics and the automotive industry now have a chance, and this chance is the Recycling Renaissance. This book offers: * Holistic and transdisciplinary overview on sustainability and automotive plastics from all angles including economy, ecology, technology, and politics with a focus on Europe * Concise analyses, prognoses, tools and a roadmap with solutions for companies, developed together with international experts from industry and academia * Strong scientific basis and independent research including a Europe-wide survey, expert interviews, and workshops * More than 80 illustrations and 15 tables including a SCOT analysis * Executive summaries after each chapter for fast reading "The uniqueness of this book lies within the different point of view on this topic from a critical, outstanding scientist." - Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Pomberger, Montanuni Leoben
Business Models for the Circular Economy by
Increased ecological awareness and the growing scarcity of resources have led to the introduction of new environmental standards, triggering enterprises, regions, and even countries to adopt new business models and industrial reconversion approaches. However, despite increased interest in business models and their innovation, it still lacks the integration of circularity and sustainability and to date research on these areas is still limited. This book, therefore, provides readers with a closer picture of the issues of business models and their innovation for the circular economy in Europe, where the issues of sustainability and the shift towards the circular economy have become cornerstones of European policies and documents and where significant differences have been identified between firms and countries. This book provides a unique view of different European perspectives and enables the reader to compare the situation in countries with completely different historical and economic conditions as well as with different perceptions of the need for the actions leading to the sustainable development and to the shift towards the circular economy.
Cases on Circular Economy in Practice by
In today's business world, firms and policymakers all utilize circular economy. However, there is a lack of knowledge on how circular economy systems work, which technologies are used, which partners firms should look for, which agreements are required to pursue circular economy, how circular economy interacts with legislation, and what benefits it provides. Additional study on the opportunities and challenges of circular economy is required to ensure business leaders are well informed. Cases on Circular Economy in Practice considers how circular economy systems are implemented and managed in practice, which strategic alliances firms pursue, and how they are coordinated through negotiation and agreements. The book also considers the technologies that circular economy systems use to achieve circularity and how performances are measured in terms of economic, social, and environmental pillars. Covering topics such as blockchain technology, smart cities, and circular business, this reference work is ideal for managers, business owners, industry professionals, researchers, academicians, scholars, practitioners, instructors, and students.
The Circular Economy by
The Circular Economy: Case Studies about the Transition from the Linear Economy explores examples of the circular economy in action. Unlike other books that provide narrow perceptions of wide-ranging and highly interconnected paradigms, such as supply chains, recycling, businesses models and waste management, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the circular economy from various perspectives. Its unique insights into the approaches, methods and tools that enable people to make the transformation to a circular economy show how recent research, trends and attitudes have moved beyond the "call to arms" approach to a level of maturity that requires sound scientific thinking.
Circular Economy in Developed and Developing Countries by
Circular Economy in Developed and Developing Countries: Perspective, Methods And Examplesdiscusses practical examples of formation of circular economy in the developed and developing world. Special attention is paid to the experiences of modern Russia in formation of circular economy, as Russia holds a unique position in the system of international classification of countries of the world, possessing the features of developed and developing economies. The authors seek the goal of helping develop a new approach to research, founded on the idea that ecological crisis is proof of the necessity for formation of circular economy. Methods of formation are offered based on the determined peculiarities and common regularities, where imbalance of developed and developing countries is overcome and the threat to ecological crises is reduced. Aimed at academics of world economics, circular economy and macro-economics, Circular Economy in Developed and Developing Countriesprovides development of the theory and methodology, as well as the practice for understanding circular economy formation.
Food Waste Management by
This book focuses on the crucial sustainability challenge of reducing food waste at the level of consumer-society. Providing an in-depth, research-based overview of the multifaceted problem, it considers environmental, economic, social and ethical factors. Perspectives included in the book address households, consumers, and organizations, and their role in reducing food waste. Rather than focusing upon the reasons for food waste itself, the chapters develop research-based solutions for the problem, providing a much-needed solution-orientated approach that takes multiple perspectives into account. Chapters 1, 2, 12 and 16 of this book are available open access under a CC BY 4.0 license at link.springer.com
Nature-Based Solutions for More Sustainable Cities by
There is growing recognition and awareness that nature can help provide viable solutions to reduce vulnerability and generate value deploying the properties of ecosystems and the services they provide. Investing in nature can lead to substantial environmental, social and economic benefits by reducing pollution, decreasing energy costs, improving health and well-being and increasing resilience to climate change and natural disasters. Nature-Based Solutions for More Sustainable Cities makes a clear case of performances, impacts, and benefits generated by NBS in cities providing a comprehensive framework approach to understand the real and full potential of NBS at the urban level taking into account several aspects, from design and planning to socio-economic evaluation and financial issues. Given the multifunctionality of NBS, the book collects contributions from several international experts ensuring the interaction between different disciplines contributing to enrich and to disseminate knowledge about NBS.
Strategies for the Circular Economy by
This book illustrates two approaches for firms to shape successful circular strategies, namely, the Circular Economy and Circular Districts. The former considers firms’ challenges when turning theoretical circular models into practice. Thus, it discusses the opportunities and difficulties in reshaping corporate strategies by reflecting on circular economy principles. The latter approach plays a new role within the new economy systems and this book conceptualizes and operationalizes its definition. The circular district can represent an effective way to accelerate the energy transition process by developing industrial collaborations and exploiting technology synergies to enhance circularity and achieve economic, environmental, and social targets. The book highlights how firms should adjust their strategic thinking, redesign their network of relationships, and reconsider the value creation process when the circular economy is a concrete option. Furthermore, it examines the evolution from circular economy to circular districts by revealing the motivations that push firms and supply chains to redesign their strategies by considering the perspective of a circular district. The book ends by analyzing business experiences in these two areas and proposes advancements for both the scientific community and the business world. The book offers a blend of theoretical frameworks and practical applications and will be of particular interest to scholars in the fields of sustainable operations, closed-loop supply chain, green supply chain management, and circular supply chains. Also, the operationalization of the concept of circular districts, offers a genuine and original theoretical contribution, thus targeting students from Executive programs, MBA programs, and PhD programs. The book will also attract managers, practitioners and professionals interested in real-world cases and experiences as well as practical developments in the domain.
Sustainable Consumption and Production, Volume II by
Circular economy principles are driving to overcome the challenges of today's linear take-make-dispose production and consumption patterns through keeping the value of products, materials, and resources circulating in the economy as long as possible. Sustainable Consumption and Production, Volume II: Circular Economy and Beyond aims to explore the sustainable consumption and production transition to a circular economy, while addressing critical global challenges by innovating and transforming product and service markets towards sustainable development. This book explores how consumers, private sector, relevant international organizations, and governments can play an active role in innovating businesses to help companies, individuals (consumers and citizens), organizations, and sectors, to remain competitive, while transitioning towards sustainable markets and economies. It is of interest to economists, students, businesses, and policymakers. Chapter "Tourism as (Un)sustainable Production and Consumption" is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.
Waste Management as Economic Industry Towards Circular Economy by 
